Recommended Reading List

Young Readers Choice Awards

The Pacific Northwest Library Association's Young Reader's Choice Award is the oldest children's choice award in the U.S. and Canada. The award was established in 1940 by a Seattle bookseller, the late Harry Hartman, who believed every student should have an opportunity to select a book that gives him or her pleasure.

Caldecott Medal Winners

Each year, the Caldecott Award is given to an illustrator for the most distinguished American picture book for children. The illustrator must be either a United States citizen or resident. The award is given by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association. You'll see a gold seal on the Caldecott winner. You'll see silver seals on books that were named honor books.

Beverly Cleary Children's Choice Awards

The Beverly Cleary Children's Choice Award, sponsored by Oregon Educational Media Association, (now the Oregon Association of School Libraries), was established in the spring of 2002.


Theodor Seuss Geisel Awards

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award, established in 2006, is given annually to
the author and illustrator of the most distinguished contribution to beginning reader books.